Spring 2017 • Issue 60, page 4

Loyola VII Symposium: Shines A Spot Light on the Future

By Sleeper, Jeanne*

The Westin South Coast proved to be an ideal site for the 126 attendees of the CRF 2017 Loyola Symposium. Nice digs. Great food. Warm fellowship. Thought-provoking educational programs. Statewide networking. Renewed friendships. Insightful conversations. Business expanding education. And the prospect that the Uniform Law Commission’s sample receivership legislation may open up other states for receivership services is exciting. The panels covered the bases: from considering new types of receiverships in a growing industry to frisbees flying for correct quiz answers. It all wrapped into a fun program.

Thanks for extraordinary service to Symposium Chair Chris Seymour; Education Co-Chairs Anne Edwards and Richard Weissman; Roundtable Chair Terri Riker; Sponsorship Co–Chairs Mia Blacker and Nich Wilson; Photographer Bob Mosier; and all of the session producers, moderators and speakers.

Special thanks to Thomas Hemmendinger and Kay Kress for their travel from Rhode Island and Michigan to present the Uniform Law Act. Our continued appreciation to the Loyola Law School of Los Angeles, our partner in education since Loyola I. A special note of thanks to Toni Spangler for her expertise as the CRF Account Executive and Loyola Senior Meeting Manager.



Mirman Bubman & Nahmias LLP
California Receivers Forum – LA/OC Chapter
California Receivership Group LLC
Douglas Wilson Companies

Bond Services of California LLC
East West Bank
The Seymour Group
Tucker Chiu Hebesha Seymour PC

Boutin Jones Inc
Classic Realty Consultants Inc
Investors Property Services
Manufacturers Bank
Mosier & Company Inc
Receivership Specialists
Richard Weissman Inc
Torrey Pines Bank


Kayvan Abselet
David Agler
Ryan Baker
Eric Beatty
Oren Bitan
Hon. Mark Borenstein
Edythe Bronston
Alan Gallup
Taylor Grant
Bob Greeley
William Hoffman
Thomas Hemmendinger
Robert Hoban
Kenton Johnston
Robert Kaplan
Benjamin King
Kay Kress
Fernando Landa
Dominic LoBuglio
Conal McNamara
Hon. Mark Millard
Alan Mirman
Hon. Bruce Mitchell (ret)
Ron Oliner
Richard Ormond
David Pasternak
Eric Pezold
Ted Phelps
Kathy Bazoian Phelps
Dean Pucci
Brett Ramsaur
Terri Riker
Phil Seymour
Kevin Singer
David Stapleton
Sue Tomlinson
Jennifer Tullius
Mike Walters
Allan Wasserman
Richard Weissman
Paul Wintermute
Todd Wohl
Scott Yahraus

*Jeanne B. Sleeper is the CEO of JBS & Associates and the California Receivers Forum State Administrator.